The Drop 10 Diet…

This is going to be a long post, that’s your fair warning, but its a good one. 

Yesterday I went to the library and browsed the cookbook section when I spotted one that read the Drop 10 Diet. Well I’m a Self Magazine reader and recognized the “Drop 10” which usually highlights cool calorie burning workouts you can post to your home gym wall. So, I figured why not read it and see what this is all about.
image

So then, while at the doctors office I read the first 46 pages, yea it was a long wait, good thing it was a good read. First, I’m not one to try “diets” and actually I’ve never really been on one. When I’ve tried to lose weight I’d eat “healthier” and worked out a lot.

To my relief, as I read the first paragraphs I realized that it was not actually about a diet but about healthy foods. I really connected with the writer, I recently have began looking at foods nutritional value not just the calories.  We all know that its far better to have 100 calories of broccoli than 100 calories of chips, that’s a given, but what about comparing “healthy” foods like peas and broccoli?

I was excited to see that the book was NOT a diet book but a book on SuperFoods, healthy foods that help you lose weight.  The book focuses on 30 SuperFoods that are affordable,  easily accessible (at your grocery store) and easy to cook. I’m sure there is more than 30 but for now these 30 will do. 

The book then provides a quick reference guide about the foods. Then to give you more information about each food is discussed in detail with research to back it up. (I’m at SuperFruits section)

The book gives you two “diet plan” options, one is a 31 day plan where you implement a healthy habit each day; Day one is adding an egg for breakfast. The other is a flexible meal plan with many options. It is 1600 calorie plan with each meal being about 350 calories, a 150 calorie snack and 200 calorie bonus (to splurge daily or save up 4 days at a time).

That is more calories that I’m currently eating but the foods it suggests are so healthy that I don’t mind, especially, if I can lose weight by eating more. The book also explains the importance of fiber and protein in your diet, recommending 34g of fiber and 120g of protein a day.

Below is my first day, I forgot to take pictures of my lunch.

Breakfast: 330 Calories
1 large egg fried
2 slices of whole wheat (Sara Lee Delight)
1 apple (it fell so I didn’t get to eat it all :-()
2 cups of coffee with 1bsp of hazelnut and 2 1/2 tsp of Stevia
1/2 cup of broccoli (steamed)
Shredded Cheese
image

I was surprised that I wasn’t hungry at 11am like I usually am. Hunger actually didn’t kick in until about 2pm. So I ate a late lunch.

Lunch: 559 Calories
1/2 cup of broccoli (steamed)
2 slices of whole wheat (Sara Lee Delight) with 2 tbsp of Vanilla Almond Butter
Fruit Salad:
1 Gala apple (my favorite)
1 Kiwi
1/2 blue berries
1 tbsp of unsalted peanuts

Snack: 127 Calories
1 tbsp of unsalted peanuts
1 Banana Oatmeal Chocolate Chip cookie

Dinner: 257 Calories
1 4oz Bacon Wrapped Tilapia (2 slices of center cut bacon)
1/2 cup of Roasted Red Potatoes
1/2 cup of broccoli (steamed)
image

Dessert: 153 Calories
2 Banana Oatmeal Chocolate Chip cookie
1/2 cup of milk

image

Today’s Totals:
Cals 1426
Carbs 138g
Protein 75g
Fiber 32g (I’m really glad my fiber is up!)

Though technically I still have a few more calories, I’m not hungry and I could save them for this weekend. (drinks anyone?)

So now it brings me to a sad note, while at the Drs office (for a back injury) yesterday, he placed pressure on the injured area and now I am in pain again. I was/am very upset as I had been feeling better and had not felt lower back pain like this in weeks.

So today, I stopped at the chiropractor’s office and told him about the pain that the other doctor induced. He checked me out and stated that my lower back was spasming 😦 so you know what that means??? No working out until I get better. He said walking is ok as long as it doesn’t bring on any more pain. Most of my pain is while I’m sitting so that shouldn’t be a problem. I’ll be seeing him again on Monday. I hope I feel better soon but I won’t rush it.

I will post weekly updates on the Drop 10 Diet and give my overall opinion about it.

Have you tried the Drop 10 Diet? Do you currently eat SuperFoods? Which are your favorite?

7 Comments

Leave a Reply

