Santa Hustle 13.1 Complete

Yesterday, I completed my 2nd Half Marathon and it was the best experience ever.

Back in February I started this blog, to share my story in getting fit and to give my honest opinion about products, fitness challenges & etc. I had been running in 2013 and ran my first Half marathon on Nov 17, 2013. The following month, Dec 20, 2013 I was in a car accident where I was rear ended by an 18 wheeler and as crazy as that sounds it was not as bad as it could have been. I actually had “minor” injuries but nonetheless had a back injury. The disc (L5S1) that was injured affected my S Joints, my hip alignment and hamstrings especially on my right since I was driving. This lead to an eventful 2014 in learning new ways to be fit and learn my bodies biomechanics.

This year, I started with sitting on an exercise ball for about 30 minutes and walking for 15. I absolutely hated being “restricted” to such easy simple task but little did I know that was key to my recovery. After a month of this, I started looking into books about what foods to eat. I found the Drop 10 Diet book and fell in love with the Superfoods. And not to long after that I got the Fitbit Force, this made me realize that I wasn’t burning as many calories as I had originally thought; only burning about 1200 calories on my sedentary days if I was lucky. Finally two months later, I started running and noticed that my mile times had dropped from 10:30 min miles to a fairly easy 9:30min miles. I was completely excited about that! I then realized that all those ‘easy’ ‘simple’ exercises were the key to my recovery and strengthening my core.

Then, the next thing that built me up was that I started lifting weights and cut back on running. I did the Jamie Eason 12 Week Program and loved it. I even had a friend/neighbor join me in my home gym. Oh did I mention that, we created our own Home Gym in 2014 lol. I finished the program and was ready to get back to running. I wanted to start with the same ferocity that I left it at. That was a big mistake.

Much like, I can’t now go back to the same amount of weight in my prime lifting of the summer, I could not go back to my running with the same intensity.  This led to some minor injuries but I was able to reflect back and knew the importance of listening to my body. After some minor adjustments and some more adjustments I was able to quickly heal (just in time) to run my 2nd Half marathon. The Santa Hustle in Galveston, TX.

It was a great experience and an easier course (for anyone that is looking to do their first half marathon). I had been training for the half marathon for about 2 months now, and I’m signed up for another one next month (Idk what I was thinking lol, but it was on sale for $45 dollars I couldn’t pass it up) and my goal for THAT half (Cocoa Women’s Half) was to run it under 2 hours. But since I was running one this month I thought I’d try my best.

So like any other race, I was nervous and anxious about running it. I kept thinking did I really sign myself up for this? And why? When the race started I put on my music and started to jam out. I had been practicing all week to just have fun, to dance to the music during my run and try to get others pumped too. So that’s what I did and every time I raised my hands to my music I somehow ran faster. I really enjoyed this run much better than my first. At the end, I was determined to meet my goal and pushed and pushed to reach it. And I did, I ran my Santa Hustle Half Marathon in 1 hour, 58 minutes and 35 seconds.

Remember to listen to your body, slow down when you need to and take the time to find out what’s causing your ailments, it will be worth it. In one year I cut my time by 35 minutes and that is after an injury. So make sure to follow your doctor’s advice and most important your own bodies cues. Have a GREAT CHRISTMAS EVERYONE! And don’t forget to get your Santa Hustle on its 2 days till Christmas!

image
image

image

image

My lovely family ran the Santa Hustle 5k, we had awesome drifit hoodies, beards and hats.
image

Leave a Reply

