176 Days Postpartumn

176 Days Postpartum
It has almost been 6 months postpartum and it certainly does not feel like that much time has passed. I am now on Week 11, day 74 of the Jamie Eason’s Post Pregnancy 12 week program, just a week and half to go till I finish it!  I have also started walking and running on some days.  I definitely can feel how much stronger I am and I can see my belly and thigh jiggle a little less. Ha ha ha
Finally after what seemed like forever I have started to shed some pounds. I am now about 145lbs so that’s 33lbs from my last pregnancy weigh-in but only 12lbs from Oct 8 (a week after delivery). As a first time mom (FTM) I have learned a lot about pregnancy weight gain. The recommended amount of weight gain is 25-35lbs and I gained 48lbs!! So a week after delivery I lost about 21lbs, sooo if I had followed the recommendations and only gained 25lbs I would have already been at pre-baby weight… but c’est la vie we only learn by experience.
I figured since I was having a “fit” pregnancy the weight gain was not a big issue. Well I was being “fit” by working out consistently throughout my pregnancy BUT my eating habits were bad. And by bad I mean eating out a few times a week, eating cake cake cake. I was obsessed with cake then after giving birth that eating did not change too much. Then after 6 weeks of almost no weight loss I realized I needed to buckle down and really watch what I was eating.
Another caveat to all this was that I am also breastfeeding. It has been a wonderful experience to be able to breastfeed my little guy. I was really nervous about “watching” what I ate for fear of losing my milk supply.  But in reality I was really only fooling myself. I started tracking my food intake on the MyFitnessPal app and realized yep, I was really over eating.  So now after some re-evaluating of my eating habits and really just cutting out fast food (I’m not much of a soda drinker) I have been able to see my weight loss. I’m eating about 1600-2000 calories a day now.
I STILL don’t fit into any of my pre-pregnancy clothes and still have to wear leggings and jeggings but I know I’m getting closer… at least to my size 6 pants. It will be a while till I fit into a 2 again but it took me about a year to get down to a 2 so I know I can do it again. And really it’s not even about the ‘size’ but more about feeling good about myself and I really do now.
In two weeks I will be starting the Jaime Eason LiveFit trainer and I look forward to seeing those results in comparison to the last time I completed it in 2014. It’s amazing how much our bodies can change with the right foods and exercise.

image

image

image

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

