Bikini Competition Prep:My “Diet”

Disclaimer: I am not a professional, please consult a professional for advice and direction.

**Long Post** If you want to get right to my current eating skip down to paragraph 4

Ok so first let me tell you I hate the word “diet” mainly because people hear diet and think of restrictions on what you can eat or not eat.  And second because I do not consider myself to be on a diet rather more of a healthy eating lifestyle. 

Everyone starts somewhere, if we all had perfect physiques based on what we ate then we’d never google or pick up a book that read DIET.  My first start at dieting was trying my own version of Atkins… by my own version I mean skimming some materials and trying it out. I was 150lbs and lost 20lbs in 3 months! Looking back I don’t even want to know how I wrecked my body eating so much fat etc.  I continued till for 3 more months and got down to 125lbs. Yes it took me another 3 months to lose 5 lbs. So now I realize and what I tell my friends now… if Atkins (low carb) or any other fad diet really worked it would continue to work but it doesn’t! 

It took me another 2 years of gaining the weight back and figuring out a better option.  I then came across Super Foods and the Drop 10 Diet book (read my post on that here) and I learned about eating super foods, fiber, and not under eating!! I went from eating 1200 calories to 1600 calories and leaned out. This was in 2014 (Check out my progress from then). I also started lifting at that time which helped me get a hint of abs.  I felt great and that was pre-baby. If that works for you and you don’t like the whole tracking system (macros) the Drop 10 book is definitely a good start.  The book gives you lots of ideas on meals and snacks (3 meals, 2 snacks & a bonus treat). 

And now in 2017, I am on macros… in 2016 I had ‘macro numbers’ I was following but I wasn’t doing it correctly. I thought by cutting carbs I was doing myself a favor but I really wasn’t. By going under on my carbs and not really tracking “FAT” I was really not following Macros correctly and essentially over eating resulting in minimal fat loss.

Come April 2017 I found Avatar Nutrition $10/mo (click link to read more) and I couldn’t be happier.  As I wanted to do my first fitness bikini competition this Fall (Oct 2017) this came into my life at the right time. I don’t think I was ready for macros back in 2014 but I definitely I am now.

For the last 2 years my husband has meal prepared our lunches (sometimes if I’m able I help him) and I made my own breakfast every day; measuring all of that out as well.  So I was already tracking for the most part, adding a stable “macro” number for each of the Marcos (Protein, Carbs, & Fat) has launched my fat loss incredibly!   I am currently eating about 1950 calories and on the Lean Mass Gain setting.

The funny thing as I have been increasing my calories from 1400 to 1950 in the last two months I have actually been losing fat!!  I went from 127lbs 23% to 125lbs 22%, so eating more isn’t going to make you fat, it is the MACROnutrients that really matter. Your body needs CARBS do not be afraid of carbs. I was afraid but look at my results.  I am so happy to have come across not only Macros but also IIFYM (if it fits your macros) so yes you can have a cookie, pie, cake, or whatever else as long if it fits your macros. This may sound too good to be true but I have lost weight eating more, and having animal cookies (they’re low in fat) almost every day. 

My current macros are: Calories 1850, Protein 127g, Fat 50g, Carbs 213g and a min of 25g of Fiber.

Here’s my latest photo

Leave a Reply

